The Best of Men are Still Men at Best

Posted: February 15, 2010 in Quotes

“As to myself, I would tell you how it is with me if I could: at the best, it would be an inconsistent account…I am a sinner, believing in the name of Jesus. I am a silly sheep, but I have a gracious, watchful Shepherd. I am a dull scholar, but I have a Master who can make the dullest learn. He still bears with me, He still employs me, He still enables me, He still owns me. Oh for a coal of heavenly fire to warm my heart, that I might praise him as I ought!”

John Newton in a letter to D. West, Esq. (August 29, 1774)

(HT: Kevin DeYoung)

Leave a Reply

