Thanksgiving

Posted: November 29, 2009 in Quotes

“Gratitude happens when you take to heart a good gift that brings you great pleasure.”

-David Powlison, Thankful People.

“The more absorbed I am in the gospel, the more grateful I become in the midst of my circumstances, whatever they may be…. When I look at any circumstance that God apportions me, I am first grateful for the wrath I am not receiving in that moment… Second, I am grateful for the blessings that are given to me instead of His wrath (Life’s blessings, however small, always appear exceedingly precious when viewed against the backdrop of the wrath I deserve.) This two-layered gratitude disposes my heart to give thanks in all things (1 Thess 5:18) and it also lends a certain intensity to my giving of thanks. Such a gospel-generated gratitude glorifies God, contributes to peace of mind (Phil 4:6-7), and keeps my foot from the path of foolishness and ruin (Rom 1:21-22, 28-29).

-Milton Vincent, A Gospel Primer for Christians.

“To be bursting with thanksgiving is a true witness of the Spirit within us. For the voice of thanksgiving speaks without ceasing of the goodness of God. It claims nothing. It sees no merit in man’s receiving but only in God’s giving. It marvels at his mercy. It is the language of joy because it need look no longer to its own resources.

The Christian rejoicing in this blessing of a thankful heart will have his eyes fixed upon the right person and the right place, Christ at God’s right hand. He cannot be taken up with himself without being immediately reminded that everything he possesses is the gift of God.”

—R.C. Lucas, The Message of Colossians and Philemon

(HT: Of First Importance)


Comments
  1. Steemignilt says:

    True words, some true words dude. Thanx for making my day!!

Leave a Reply

