Gospel Provides Freedom to Confess Sin

Posted: September 18, 2009 in Gospel

It’s a hard thing for me to admit when I’m wrong, or have sinned. I have a propensity to blame other people or circumstances for my personal sin. The truth is, although other people are sinful and the world is marred by evil, my greatest enemy and problem is the sin that is living in me. When I get angry, impatience, greedy, self-absorbed, anxious, and unloving I have no problem coming up with a multitude of excuses for why I acted sinfully. This will only create pride and self-exultation rather than the cleansing power of God’s forgiveness. The Bible says if I confess, admit, and own-up to my sin, God is faithful and just to forgive me and cleanse me from my iniquity (1 Jn. 1:9). It’s just plain self-righteous and stupid to try to justify myself before God by blaming others for my sin.

The Gospel creates incredible freedom to admit sin and failure because of Christ perfect substitution on my behalf. You simply have nowhere to go than Christ finished work when you truly take fault for your sin rather than blaming someone or something else. When you say, “I’ve failed, I can’t do this, I’ve sinned,” and take a hold of Christ by faith, God graciously and tenderly cleanses you of your filth.

Leave a Reply

